Sunday, 1 May 2016

Crystal Jacqueline - Morning Dew EP (Ltd. Colour 7")

Brand new EP from Devonshire's premier psych-folk vocalist!

I've written about Crystal Jacqueline's music before, with her most recent album Rainflower becoming something of a soundtrack to last summer. This four track EP maintains the high standard and contains three well chosen covers and one brand new original song. Jacqueline is ably backed throughout by her partner and musical collaborator Icarus Peel.

The EP opens with a five minute version of Bonnie Dobson's 'Morning Dew', stealing it away from its folksy roots and into ethereal dream-pop territory. It's quickly followed by a brand new original song, 'Ivy'. Multi-tracked vocals backed with finger-picked guitar and synth washes, it's short but sweet and bodes well for any future full album plans.

The remaining two tracks are well chosen covers of obscurities. (well, obscure to me anyway!) 'Moonsong:Pelog' is so perfectly suited to Jacqueline's voice it could well be mistaken for self-penned but it's actually by written by Joe Byrd and The Field Hippies and first appeared on the band's 1969 LP The American Metaphysical Circus.

Rounding off the EP is 'Sally Go Round The Roses', a song by one-hit-wonders The Jaynetts. Eschewing the R&B feel of the original for something more psychedelic and majestic, it's a triumphant end to this four song odyssey. As ever buy with confidence!

Tracklisting -
Morning Dew (Bonnie Dobson/Tim Rose)
Ivy (Icarus Peel)
Moonsong:Pelog (Joe Byrd And The Field Hippies)
Sally Go Round The Roses (The Jaynetts)

Released on May 9th as a limited edition colour vinyl 7”.

Click here for more on Crystal Jacqueline.
Click here for Fruits de Mer Records.